Special Issues » InSider

We're number one

Favorites in the 2013 Independent readers' poll

comment

Dining

Appetizers/Tapas

TAPAteria, 2607 W. Colorado Ave., tapateria.com

Bakery

Marigold Café and Bakery, 4605 Centennial Blvd., marigoldcoloradosprings.com

Bang-for-Your-Buck Restaurant

La Casita Mexican Grill, multiple locations, lacasitamexigrill.com

Barbecue

Front Range Barbeque, 2330 W. Colorado Ave., frbbq.com

Biscuits and Gravy

Over Easy, 28 S. Tejon St., overeasycolorado.com

Bread

La Baguette French Bakery-Café, 2417 W. Colorado Ave., 117 E. Pikes Peak Ave., labaguette-co.com

La Baguette French Bistro, 4440 N. Chestnut St., labaguettefrenchbistro.com

Breakfast

Over Easy, 28 S. Tejon St., overeasycolorado.com

Buffalo Wings

Buffalo Wild Wings, 7425 N. Academy Blvd., 2905 Geyser Drive, buffalowildwings.com

Buffet

Golden Corral, 1970 Waynoka Road, 5410 E. Woodmen Road, goldencorral.com

Burger

Red Robin Gourmet Burgers, multiple locations, redrobin.com

Cajun/Southern

Springs Orleans, 123 E. Pikes Peak Ave., springsorleans.com

Chinese

China Village, 203 N. Union Blvd., tiny.cc/vjpzcx

Cutting-Edge Restaurant

Nosh, 121 S. Tejon St., nosh121.com

Deli

Jason's Deli, 7455 N. Academy Blvd., jasonsdeli.com

Dessert Destination

Marigold Café and Bakery, 4605 Centennial Blvd., marigoldcoloradosprings.com

Diner

King's Chef Diner, 131 E. Bijou St., 110 E. Costilla St., kingschefdiner.com

Fine Dining

The Famous, 31 N. Tejon St., thefamoussteakhouse.net

French

La Baguette French Bakery-Café, 2417 W. Colorado Ave., 117 E. Pikes Peak Ave., 636-5020, labaguette-co.com

La Baguette French Bistro, 4440 N. Chestnut St., labaguettefrenchbistro.com

Frozen Yogurt

YoYogurt, multiple locations, yoyogurtusa.com

German

Edelweiss German Restaurant, 34 E. Ramona Ave., edelweissrest.com

Gluten-Free-Friendly

Coquette's Bistro & Bakery, 321 N. Tejon St., coquettesbistroandbakery.com

Green Chile

King's Chef Diner, 131 E. Bijou St., 110 E. Costilla St., kingschefdiner.com

Hummus

Heart of Jerusalem Café, 718 Manitou Ave., Manitou Springs; 4587 Austin Bluffs Pkwy., tiny.cc/92pzcx

(tie) Jake & Telly's Greek Taverna, 2616 W. Colorado Ave., jakeandtellys.com

Ice Cream/Gelato

Josh & John's Naturally Homemade Ice Creams, 111 E. Pikes Peak Ave., 6896 Centennial Blvd., joshandjohns.com

Indian/Curry

Little Nepal, 1747 S. Eighth St., 4820 Flintridge Drive, lnepal.com

Italian

Paravicini's Italian Bistro, 2802 W. Colorado Ave., paravicinis.com

Japanese/Sushi

Jun Japanese Restaurant, 3276 Centennial Blvd., 1760 Dublin Blvd., jun-japanese.com

Korean

Tong Tong, 2036 S. Academy Blvd.

Late-Night Dining

King's Chef Diner, 131 E. Bijou St., 110 E. Costilla St., kingschefdiner.com

Local Coffee House

The Perk Downtown, 14 S. Tejon St., tiny.cc/lhqzcx

Local Coffee Roaster

Colorado Coffee Merchants, 302 E. Fillmore St., coloradocoffeemerchants.com

Local Pizza Joint

Borriello Brothers, multiple locations, borriellobrothers.com

Local/Regional Restaurant Chain

Il Vicino, 11 S. Tejon St., 5214 N. Nevada Ave., ilvicino.com

Mediterranean

Mediterranean Café, 118 E. Kiowa St., medcafe-co.com

Mexican

Salsa Brava Fresh Mexican Grill, 9420 Briar Village Point, 802 Village Center Drive, salsabravacolorado.com

Middle Eastern

Heart of Jerusalem Café, 718 Manitou Ave., Manitou Springs; 4587 Austin Bluffs Pkwy., tiny.cc/92pzcx

National Chain Coffee House

Starbucks Coffee Company, multiple locations, starbucks.com

National Pizza Chain

Papa Murphy's, multiple locations, papamurphys.com

Neighborhood Restaurant: Central

Shuga's, 702 S. Cascade Ave., shugas.com

Neighborhood Restaurant: East

Rock Bottom Restaurant Brewery, 3316 Cinema Point Drive, rockbottom.com

Neighborhood Restaurant: Manitou

Adam's Mountain Café, 934 Manitou Ave., #102, adamsmountain.com

Neighborhood Restaurant: Monument

La Casa Fiesta, 230 Front St., lacasafiesta.net

Neighborhood Restaurant: North

Salsa Brava Fresh Mexican Grill, 9420 Briar Village Point, 802 Village Center Drive, salsabravacolorado.com

Neighborhood Restaurant: South

The Blue Star, 1645 S. Tejon St., thebluestar.net

Neighborhood Restaurant: West

Front Range Barbeque, 2330 W. Colorado Ave., frbbq.com

New Restaurant (since July 1, 2012)

Hacienda Colorado, 5246 N. Nevada Ave., haciendacolorado.com

Patio Dining

Amanda's Fonda, 3625 W. Colorado Ave., amandasfonda.com

Place to Dine Alone

Poor Richard's Restaurant, 324½ N. Tejon St., poorrichardsdowntown.com

Place to Eat Local/Sustainable

Adam's Mountain Café, 934 Manitou Ave., #102, Manitou Springs, adamsmountain.com

Power Lunch

MacKenzie's Chop House, 128 S. Tejon St., mackenzieschophouse.com

Restaurant for Carnivores

The Famous, 31 N. Tejon St., thefamoussteakhouse.net

Restaurant for Herbivores

Adam's Mountain Café, 934 Manitou Ave., #102, Manitou Springs, adamsmountain.com

Restaurant for Kids That Isn't Fast Food

Poor Richard's Restaurant, 324½ N. Tejon St., poorrichardsdowntown.com

Restaurant for Tourists

Phantom Canyon Brewing Co., 2 E. Pikes Peak Ave., phantomcanyon.com

Restaurant for a Wedding Reception

Briarhurst Manor Estate, 404 Manitou Ave., Manitou Springs, briarhurstdining.com

Restaurant Wine List

The Blue Star, 1645 S. Tejon St., thebluestar.net

Salads

Souper Salad, multiple locations, soupersalad.com

Sandwiches

Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwiches, multiple locations, jimmyjohns.com

Seafood

Bonefish Grill, 5102 N. Nevada Ave., bonefishgrill.com

Smoothie/Juice Bar

Jamba Juice, 1708 E. Woodmen Road, 3730 Bloomington St., jambajuice.com

Soup

Panera Bread, multiple locations, panerabread.com

Spot for a Spot of Tea

Montague's, 1019 S. Tejon St.

Sunday Brunch

Lake Terrace at the Broadmoor, 1 Lake Ave., broadmoor.com/lake-terrace

Take-Out

Little Nepal, 1747 S. Eighth St., 4820 Flintridge Drive, lnepal.com

Taqueria

Monica's Taco Shop, 30 E. Fillmore St., 5829 Palmer Park Blvd.

Thai

Wild Ginger, 27 Manitou Ave., Manitou Springs

Vietnamese

Saigon Café, 20 E. Colorado Ave., coloradosaigoncafe.com

Wait Staff

Olive Garden Italian Restaurant, 513 N. Academy Blvd., 7815 N. Academy Blvd., olivegarden.com

Nightlife

Bang-for-Your-Buck Bar

Tony's, 311 N. Tejon St., tonysdowntownbar.com

Banquet Facility

Phantom Canyon Brewing Co., 2 E. Pikes Peak Ave., phantomcanyon.com

Bar Crowd

Tony's, 311 N. Tejon St., tonysdowntownbar.com

Bar for a Creative Cocktail

Shuga's, 702 S. Cascade Ave., shugas.com

Bar Patio

Phantom Canyon Brewing Co., 2 E. Pikes Peak Ave., phantomcanyon.com

Bartender

Nate Windham at The Blue Star, 1645 S. Tejon St., thebluestar.net

Beer Selection on Tap

Old Chicago (Powers), 3190 New Center Point, oldchicago.com

College Bar

Tony's, 311 N. Tejon St., tonysdowntownbar.com

Domestic Beer

Pabst Blue Ribbon, pabstblueribbon.com

Happy Hour

Chili's, multiple locations, chilis.com

Imported Beer

Sol, sol.com

In-Store Beer Selection

Cheers Liquor Mart, 1105 N. Circle Drive, cheersliquormart.com

In-Store Spirits/Liquor Selection

Cheers Liquor Mart, 1105 N. Circle Drive, cheersliquormart.com

In-Store Wine Selection

Cheers Liquor Mart, 1105 N. Circle Drive, cheersliquormart.com

Irish Pub

Jack Quinn Irish Alehouse & Pub, 21 S. Tejon St., jackquinnspub.com

Karaoke Bar

Zodiac Venue and Bar, 230 Pueblo Ave., zodiacvenue.com

Local Brewery

Bristol Brewing Company, 1604 S. Cascade Ave., bristolbrewing.com

Local Microbrew to Drink in Summer

Beehive Honey Wheat, Bristol Brewing Company, 1604 S. Cascade Ave.

Local Microbrew to Drink in Winter

Winter Warlock, Bristol Brewing Company, 1604 S. Cascade Ave.

Local Venue for Live Music

The Black Sheep, 2106 E. Platte Ave., blacksheeprocks.com

Naughty Business

Peaks and Pasties, peaksandpasties.com

Neighborhood Bar: Central

Tony's, 311 N. Tejon St., tonysdowntownbar.com

Neighborhood Bar: East

The Cow Pub and Grill (formerly Holy Cow), 5885 Stetson Hills Blvd., thecowpubandgrill.com

Neighborhood Bar: Manitou

Keg Lounge, 730 Manitou Ave., keglounge.com

Neighborhood Bar: Monument

Pikes Peak Brewing Co., 1756 Lake Woodmoor Drive, pikespeakbrewing.com

Neighborhood Bar: North

Back East Bar and Grill, 9475 Briar Village Point, #168, backeastbarandgrill.com

Neighborhood Bar: South

Ivywild School complex, 1604 S. Cascade Ave., ivywildschool.com

Neighborhood Bar: West

Thunder & Buttons II, 2415 W. Colorado Ave., thunderandbuttons.com

New Bar (since July 1, 2012)

Ivywild School complex, 1604 S. Cascade Ave., ivywildschool.com

Open Mic Night

Zodiac Venue and Bar, 230 Pueblo Ave., zodiacvenue.com

Place for a Blind Date

Ivywild School complex, 1604 S. Cascade Ave., ivywildschool.com

Place to Meet Men

Club Q, 3430 N. Academy Blvd., clubqonline.com

Place to Meet Women

Sinful Living Meetup at Zodiac Venue and Bar, 230 Pueblo Ave., zodiacvenue.com

Place to Shoot Pool

Phantom Canyon Brewing Co., 2 E. Pikes Peak Ave., phantomcanyon.com

Sports Bar

Fox and Hound, 3101 New Center Point Drive, foxandhound.com

Upscale Bar

The Rabbit Hole, 101 N. Tejon St., rabbitholedinner.com

Weekly Bar Event

Geeks Who Drink, multiple locations, geekswhodrink.com

Wine Bar

Swirl Wine Bar, 717 Manitou Ave., Manitou Springs, swirlismybar.com

Shopping & Services

Antique/Gently Used Furniture Store

Platte Furniture, 2331 E. Platte Place, plattefurniture.com

Bank/Credit Union

ENT Federal Credit Union, multiple locations, ent.com

Barber

Sara Mascarenas at Eden Salon & Barbershop, 12 E. Kiowa St., edensalonandbarbershop.com

Barbershop

Floyd's 99 Barbershop, 7252 N. Academy Blvd., #110, 3377 Cinema Point, floydsbarbershop.com

Child Day Care

Giving Tree Montessori School, 1110 W. Moreno Ave., gtmschool.com

Day Spa

Veda Salon & Spa, multiple locations, coloradoveda.com

Dentist

Broadmoor Dental, 1930 S. Nevada Ave., broadmoordental.com

Doctor

Gina Bamberger, D.O., 1730 N. Corona St.

Ethnic Market

Asian Pacific Market, 615 Wooten Road, #160, asianpacificmarketco.com

Flower Shop

Platte Floral, 1417 E. Platte Ave., platteflowers.net

Garden Supply/Nursery

Good Earth Garden Center, 1330 N. Walnut St., goodearthgardencenter.com

Gourmet/Spice Market

Savory Spice Shop, 110 N. Tejon St., savoryspiceshop.com

Grocery Store

King Soopers, multiple locations, kingsoopers.com

Hair Salon

Veda Salon & Spa, multiple locations, coloradoveda.com

Hair Stylist

Timka Tremouille at Phenix Salon Suites, 1747 Briargate Blvd., phenixsalonsuites.com

Higher Ed for the Money

University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, 1420 Austin Bluffs Pkwy., uccs.edu

Higher Ed for Nontraditional Students

Pikes Peak Community College, multiple locations, ppcc.edu

Holistic Practitioner

Valerie Blankenship at Sage Woman Herbs & Clinic, 108 E. Cheyenne Road, sagewomanherbs.com

Interior Design/Home Remodeling

Rich Designs Home, 1731 Mount Washington Ave., richdesignshome.com

Jewelry Store

Luisa Graff Jewelers, 5901 N. Nevada Ave., luisagraffjewelers.com

Landscaper/Company

Colorado StoneWorks Landscaping, 21 Commerce St., springslandscaping.com

Mechanic

Aspen Auto Clinic, multiple locations, aspenautoclinic.com

Medical Marijuana Dispensary: East

Cannabicare, 1466 Woolsey Heights, cannabicare.com

(tie) The Healing Canna, 3692 E. Bijou St., thehealingcanna.com

Medical Marijuana Dispensary: North

Medical Cannabis Caregivers, 6020 Erin Park Drive, Suite A, mccaregivers.com

Medical Marijuana Dispensary: South

Maggie's Farm, 1424 S. Nevada Ave., 818 E. Fillmore St., maggiesfarmmarijuana.com

Medical Marijuana Dispensary: West

TriChome Health Consultants, 2117 W. Colorado Ave., thcmed.com

Musical Instruments Store

Meeker Music, multiple locations, meekermusic.com

Natural Foods Store

Whole Foods Market, 7635 N. Academy Blvd., 3180 New Center Point, wholefoodsmarket.com

Nail Salon

Helen's Nails, 2832s N. Powers Blvd.

National Chain Hotel/Motel

Marriott Colorado Springs, 5580 Tech Center Drive, marriott.com

Naturopath

Ruth Adele, 1625 W. Uintah St., Suite I

New Domestic Car Dealer

Phil Long Ford, 1565 Auto Mall Loop, 1212 Motor City Drive, phillong.com

New Foreign Car Dealer

Heuberger Motors, 1080 Motor City Drive, heubergermotors.com

Non-Chain Book Store

Poor Richard's Bookstore, 320 N. Tejon St., poorrichardsdowntown.com

Non-Chain Store for Women's Fashions

Terra Verde, 208 N. Tejon St., terraverdestyle.com

Pet Day Care

Lucky Dog, 2801 Janitell Road, 4401 Mark Dabling Blvd., bealuckydog.com

Pet Groomer

Northwest Animal Hospital & Pet Care Center, 4575 N. Chestnut St., nwanimalhospital.com

Photographer

Kaylene Rood at Photography by Kaylene, 351-0582

Piercing Parlor

Pens & Needles Custom Tattoo Co., 716 N. Weber St., #200, pens-needles.com

Place to Buy a Thoughtful, Inexpensive Gift

Terra Verde, 208 N. Tejon St., terraverdestyle.com

Place to Buy a Thoughtful, Over-the-Top Gift

Terra Verde, 208 N. Tejon St., terraverdestyle.com

Place to Buy Art

Commonwheel Artists Co-Op, 102 Cañon Ave., Manitou Springs, commonwheel.com

Place for Eyewear

ABBA Eye Care, multiple locations, abbaeyecare.com

Realtor

Christopher Morrison at Action Team Realty, 2790 N. Academy Blvd., #180, actionteamcolorado.com

Service at a Dealership

Heuberger Motors, 1080 Motor City Drive, heubergermotors.com

Shoe Store

DSW, 7639 N. Academy Blvd., dsw.com

Store for Accessories

Terra Verde, 208 N. Tejon St., terraverdestyle.com

Store for Music, Movies and Video Games

Independent Records & Video, multiple locations, beindependent.com

Tattoo Parlor

Pens & Needles Custom Tattoo Co., 716 N. Weber St., #200, pens-needles.com

Tattoo Artist

Troy Sedlacek at Premier Tattoo, 519 S. Tejon St., #100, premiertattoo.com

Thrift Store

Arc Thrift Stores, multiple locations, arcthrift.org

Used Car Dealer

Mile High Car Company, 1480 Ainsworth St., milehighcarco.com

Veterinarian

Westside Animal Hospital, 1603 W. Colorado Ave., westsideanimalhospital.com

Daylife

Affordable Family Fun

Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, 4250 Cheyenne Mountain Zoo Road , cmzoo.org

Annual Outdoor Fest

Colorado Balloon Classic, Memorial Park, balloonclassic.com

Art Exhibition

Son of Pop at the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center, 30 W. Dale St., csfineartscenter.org

Artist

Liese Chavez, liesechavez.com

Bed & Breakfast

The Avenue Hotel B&B, 711 Manitou Ave., Manitou Springs, avenuehotelbandb.com

Bike Shop

Old Town Bike Shop, 426 S. Tejon St., oldtownbikeshop.com

Casino

Wildwood Casino, 119 Carbonate St., Cripple Creek, playwildwood.com

Category We Forgot

Nutrition/Weight Loss Center

Caterer

Picnic Basket, 1701 S. Eighth St., pbcatering.com

Cultural Attraction/Museum

Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center, 30 W. Dale St., csfineartscenter.org

Dance Studio

Ormao Dance Company, 10 S. Spruce St., ormaodance.org

Fitness Center

YMCA of the Pikes Peak Region, multiple locations, ppymca.org

Gallery

The Modbo, 17C E. Bijou St., themodboco.com

Local Hotel/Motel

The Broadmoor, 1 Lake Ave., broadmoor.com

Local Sports Store/Outdoor Outfitter

Mountain Chalet, 226 N. Tejon St., mtnchalet.com

Martial Arts

Tai Chi Association of Colorado Springs, 219 W. Colorado Ave., #310, taichicoloradosprings.com

Movie Theater

Kimball's Peak Three Theater, 115 E. Pikes Peak Ave., kimballspeakthree.com

Performing Arts Group/Program

TheatreWorks, 3955 Regent Circle, theatreworkscs.org

Pilates Studio

Motion Studies, 4460 N. Chestnut St., motionstudies.com

Place to Buy Motorcycles

Pikes Peak Harley-Davidson, 5867 N. Nevada Ave., #150, pikespeakharleydavidson.com

Place to Buy Scooters

Sportique Scooters, 1834 E. Platte Ave., sportiquescooters.com

Place to Buy Skateboards

Blindside, 600 S. 21st St., #150, blindsidecolorado.net

Place to Buy Skis/Snowboards

Blindside, 600 S. 21st St., #150, blindsidecolorado.net

Place to See Emerging Artists

The Modbo, 17C E. Bijou St., themodboco.com

Place for a Wedding

The Pinery, 12375 Black Forest Road, thepinery.com

Tourist Destination

Garden of the Gods, 1805 N. 30th St., gardenofgods.com

Yoga Studio

cambio. Yoga, 3326 Austin Bluffs Pkwy., #100, cambioyoga.com

Personalities

Cultural White Knight

Susan Edmondson at the Downtown Partnership, downtown80903.com

Fundraising Event

Give! campaign, indygive.com

Hero of the Year

Wildfire first responders

Local Blogger

Carrie Isaac as Springs Bargains, springsbargains.com

Local Politician

Former state Sen. John Morse

Local Reason to Celebrate

Fire relief

Local Scandal of the Year

Colorado Springs' recreational marijuana ban

Local Talk Radio Personality

Goose and Woody at 92.9 Peak FM, 929peakfm.com

Local Twitterer

Wendy Carson as Springs Alliance, @SpringsAlliance

Local TV Newscast

Heather Skold and James Jarman at KRDO NewsChannel 13, krdo.com

Local TV News Personality

Matt Meister at KRDO NewsChannel 13, @theWxMeister

Nonprofit Organization

Care and Share Food Bank for Southern Colorado, 2605 Preamble Point, careandshare.org

Radio DJ

Vicky Gregor at KRCC-FM 91.5, krcc.org

Radio Station: Music

KRXP-FM 103.9, 1039rxp.com

Radio Station: Talk

KRCC-FM 91.5, krcc.org

Add a comment

Clicky Quantcast