Colorado Springs most authoritative calender Literary Events | Events | Colorado Springs Independent

Calendar » Events

Literary Events

comment
Exploring Lives & Cultures Reading Group, East Library's small conference room, 5550 N. Union Blvd. Free. Discussing The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon. Fri., Oct. 7, 10-11 a.m. Visit aauw.org or call 597-7161 for more.

Stephen J. May Signing, Barnes & Noble Booksellers, 1565 Briargate Blvd. Free. May signs and discusses his full-length biography Michener: A Writer's Journey on Sat., Oct. 8, 2-4 p.m. Call 266-9945 for more.

Colorado College's Visiting Writer Series, featuring Lorna Goodison on Thurs., Oct. 13; Mark Jarman on Thurs., Oct. 20; Kevin McIlvoy on Thurs., Nov. 10; An Evening of Music and Poetry on Thurs., Nov. 17; Josip Novakovich on Thurs., Dec. 8; Demetria Martinez on Thurs., Feb. 2; Jay Parini on Thurs., Feb. 23; Philip Levine on Thurs., March 9; David Foster Wallace on Thurs., April 6; Chris Bachelder on Mon., April 17; Jim Moore on Thurs., April 27; Peter Matthiessen on Thurs., May 4. All at 7 p.m. Call 389-6853 for more.

Friends of the PPLD Big Book Sale, Sand Creek Branch Library, 1821 S. Academy Blvd. Thousands of books will be sold to benefit the Friends of the Pikes Peak Library District's move to a new office. Runs Oct. 8, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Oct. 9, noon to 4 p.m. Call 531-6333 ext. 1462 for more.

Robert Greer Signings, Book Sleuth, 2501 W. Colorado Ave. Greer, a Denver author, signs Resurrecting Langston Blue on Sat., Oct. 8, noon to 2 p.m. Call 632-2727 for more.

"Chick"-a-dee Chats, $60 for six sessions. A support group for women writers where you can fearlessly express truth in a way that heals, balances and opens your perception. Runs Oct. 11 through Dec. 20, 7-8:30 p.m. Call 579-9684 for more.

The Grasshopper Group, $25. Bring your writing and an open mind to a group that will help you make an uncanny leap forward. Sat., Oct. 15, 10 a.m. Call 579-9684 for more.

Pikes Peak Writers Contest, with a variety of categories to compete in. A contest for unpublished writers, with cash awards. Entries due by Nov. 1. Visit ppwc.net/contest.html for more.

Thin Air Poetry Slam, Cedars Lounge, 3125 Sinton Road. Free. Open to the public, all ages welcome. Every Tuesday, doors open at 7 p.m., slam begins at 7:30 sharp. Call 573-6820 or visit thinairpoetryslam.com for more.

Pikes Peak Library District is seeking local book groups to participate in the 2005 All Pikes Peak Reads program. You can choose the library's official version or one that you prefer. PPLD provides discussion materials, bookmarks and will include participating book groups in promotional materials. Call Travis at 531-6333 ext. 1221 for more.

Add a comment

Clicky Quantcast