County Commissioners keep leadership in place



The El Paso County Commissioners today voted to keep Commissioner Dennis Hisey as the board chair, Commissioner Amy Lathen as vice chair and Commissioner Sallie Clark as third chair.

The trio has long been in leadership positions, effectively blocking out Commissioners Darryl Glenn and Peggy Littleton. Glenn objected to the move.

"We're moving in the right direction as far as — I look at how well we work together as a board compared to some other governmental entities, and even when we disagree I think we're very respectful when we do that," he said. "Unfortunately, I'm going to disagree with this. There are some critical issues that I believe are coming forward and I think it's important to make some changes."

He said that as a veteran, he thought he could provide leadership on military issues. Glenn also noted that he's a former City Councilor, and said he felt he could help improve relations with that body.

Littleton also objected to the arrangement. She said she believed that it was important that "others be able to rise to leadership positions." She noted that leaders get to know staff, and she said that allowing junior members to serve in leadership position assured smooth transitions in future years.

The board voted 3-2 to keep the current leadership.

Comments (4)

Showing 1-4 of 4

Add a comment

Add a comment

Clicky Quantcast